

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

NEW ARBITRATOR APPOINTED IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY UKRAINE AGAINST THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION

PCA CASE NO. 2019-28, DISPUTE CONCERNING THE DETENTION OF UKRAINIAN NAVAL VESSELS AND SERVICEMEN (UKRAINE V. THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION)

On 28 October 2024, the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Judge Tomas Heidar, appointed Ms Kathy-Ann Brown (Jamaica) as arbitrator in the arbitral proceedings instituted by Ukraine against the Russian Federation under Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (PCA Case No. 2019-28, *Dispute Concerning the Detention of Ukrainian Naval Vessels and Servicemen (Ukraine v. the Russian Federation*)).

By letter dated 14 October 2024, the Agent of Ukraine, Ms Oksana Zolotaryova, informed President Heidar of the withdrawal, on 13 August 2024, of one arbitrator from the arbitral tribunal. The letter also stated that Ukraine and the Russian Federation had been unable to reach agreement within 60 days since the notification of the withdrawal on 13 August 2024 and that Ukraine "requests that [President Heidar] appoint an arbitrator within 30 days of receipt of this request, pursuant to Article 3 of Annex VII" to the Convention.

Under article 3, subparagraph (f), of Annex VII to the Convention, any vacancy in the arbitral tribunal must be filled "in the manner prescribed for the initial appointment." The President is therefore required to make the appointment to fill the vacant seat within a period of 30 days of receipt of the request and in consultation with the Parties, as prescribed under article 3, subparagraph (e), of Annex VII to the Convention. Further to consultations by correspondence with the Parties on the matter, Ms Kathy-Ann Brown was appointed to serve as a member of the arbitral tribunal.

The composition of the five-member Annex VII arbitral tribunal is now as follows: Gudmundur Eiriksson, president (Iceland), Alexander N. Vylegzhanin (Russian Federation), Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom), James Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) and Kathy-Ann Brown (Jamaica).

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's website (http://www.itlos.org and <a href="http://w