

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## **Press Release**

## TWO ARBITRATORS AND PRESIDENT APPOINTED IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY UKRAINE AGAINST THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION

PCA CASE NO. 2019-28, DISPUTE CONCERNING THE DETENTION OF UKRAINIAN NAVAL VESSELS AND SERVICEMEN (UKRAINE V. THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION)

On 8 August 2024, the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Judge Tomas Heidar, appointed Mr James Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) and Ms Joanna Mossop (New Zealand) as arbitrators in the arbitral proceedings instituted by Ukraine against the Russian Federation under Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (PCA Case No. 2019-28, *Dispute Concerning the Detention of Ukrainian Naval Vessels and Servicemen (Ukraine v. the Russian Federation)*). President Heidar also appointed Mr Gudmundur Eiriksson (Iceland), a current member of the arbitral tribunal, as president of the arbitral tribunal.

By letter dated 8 July 2024 and received on 9 July 2024, the Agent of Ukraine, Ms Oksana Zolotaryova, informed President Heidar of the resignation of two arbitrators from the arbitral tribunal and stated that "the vacancies are to be filled pursuant to the procedures set forth in Articles 3(d) and 3(e) of Annex VII" to the Convention. The letter also stated that Ukraine and Russia "have been unable to reach agreement on the appointment of arbitrators" and that Ukraine "requests that [President Heidar] appoint two new arbitrators ... pursuant to Article 3 of Annex VII". In the same letter, Ukraine further requested President Heidar to appoint the president of the arbitral tribunal.

Under article 3, subparagraph (f), of Annex VII to the Convention, any vacancy in the arbitral tribunal must be filled "in the manner prescribed for the initial appointment." The President is therefore required to make the appointment to fill the vacant seats within a period of 30 days of receipt of the request and in consultation with the Parties, as prescribed under article 3, subparagraph (e), of Annex VII to the Convention. Further to consultations by correspondence with the Parties on the matter, Mr James Kateka and Ms Joanna Mossop were appointed to serve as members of the arbitral tribunal and Mr Gudmundur Eiriksson as president of the arbitral tribunal.

The composition of the five-member Annex VII arbitral tribunal is now as follows: Gudmundur Eiriksson, president (Iceland), Alexander N. Vylegzhanin

(Russian Federation), Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom), James Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) and Joanna Mossop (New Zealand).

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's website (<a href="http://www.itlos.org">http://www.itlos.org</a> and <a href="http://w