

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

SEVEN MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA ELECTED IN NEW YORK

The eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, in session at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, elected seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea on Friday, 13 June 2008 for a term of nine years commencing on 1 October 2008.

Among those seven members, Judge Wolfrum (Germany), Judge Akl (Lebanon), Judge Marotta Rangel (Brazil), Judge Chandrasekhara Rao (India) and Judge Jesus (Cape Verde) were re-elected and Mr Bouguetaia (Algeria) and Mr Golitsyn (Russian Federation) were newly elected by the States Parties. The biographies of the judges who were re-elected are available on the website of the Tribunal and those of Mr Bouguetaia and Mr Golitsyn may be found in document SPLOS/173 which is available on the website of the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea of the United Nations at www.un.org/Depts/los.

Elections for the judges of the Tribunal are held every three years at the Meeting of States Parties. The judges are elected by the States Parties to the Convention by secret ballot for a term of nine years and may be re-elected. In accordance with article 2 of the Tribunal's Statute, each State Party may nominate up to two candidates from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognised competence in the field of the law of the sea.

The Statute also requires that equitable geographical distribution be assured among the Members and that the principal legal systems of the world be represented. It further stipulates that there should be at least three Judges from each geographical group as established by the General Assembly of the United Nations and that no two judges may be of the same nationality. The persons elected shall be those nominees who obtain the largest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of the States Parties present and voting, provided that such majority includes a majority of the States Parties.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: www.itlos.org and www.tidm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, (Germany)

Telephone: +49 (040) 35607-227, fax: +49 (040) 35607-245/275

e-mail: press@itlos.org